Search Results

Search found 90171 results on 3607 pages for 'user stories'.

Page 542/3607 | < Previous Page | 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549  | Next Page >

  • Point sample opacity/alpha in Adobe Photoshop?

    - by Josh
    I opened a PNG containing an alpha channel in Photoshop and wanted to get the opacity / alpha of a given point in the PNG file, so that I could match that opacity in a new photoshop layer. How can I do this? is there any way to get an alpha value at a point the way the color sample tool gives RGB values at a given point?

    Read the article

  • Ubuntu: Failure to login with multiple video adapters

    - by tsilb
    Forgive my ignorance, for I am a complete linux noob. I have a computer with three video cards and six monitors. Works great on Windows. Trying to get it to run Ubuntu as well. It loads fine when I have it configured to run on one adapter; detects both screens, runs ok. But I want to turn the other 4 monitors on and run the whole thing as one extended desktop (one session, etc). So I downloaded and installed the newest ATI driver for Linux, which seems to work, kinda. I ran this to set up the screens: aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f Now when I boot, Ubuntu seems to turn on all the screens (3 viewports, each with two cloned displays from what I can tell). When I enter my login info OR move the mouse off the main screen, the screens freeze and the kbd/ms become unresponsive. aticonfig generated xorg.conf included below. Have tried the following: aticonfig -initial -f - works, but only detects the primary adapter and 2 screens aticccle - Tells me I have to reboot after enabling the other cards. Then goes into above described freezing state. aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f - see above Manually editing xorg.conf file with my limited knowledge - Was able to get two adapters running, but only the second adapter initialized while the primary stopped at the Ubuntu boot screen. Was unable to see the login prompt. Froze after I logged in blindly (was able to hear the login sound). Using generic "radeon" driver instead of ATI Proprietary driver with the above init attempts Toggling xinerama Various combinations of the above Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad q6600 8GB DDR2 (3x) ATI Radeon HD 4680 5 monitors (21W, 21W, 22W Portrait, 22W Portrait, 19")and an HDTV (26"W, HDMI) in a horizontal arrangement I know next to nothing about Linux/Ubuntu aside from basic filesystem navigation, editing text files, and accessing my local and networked Windows stores and shares. Basically this is the most advanced thing I've had to do. I installed today. Please advise how to make this configuration work. my xorg.conf: Section "ServerLayout" Identifier "Layout0" Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0 Screen "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" Screen "aticonfig-Screen[2]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" Option "RenderAccel" "true" Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true" EndSection Section "Files" EndSection Section "Module" EndSection Section "ServerFlags" Option "Xinerama" "0" EndSection Section "Monitor" Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0" Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver" Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor" Option "DPMS" "true" EndSection Section "Monitor" Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0" Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver" Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor" Option "DPMS" "true" EndSection Section "Monitor" Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[2]-0" Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver" Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor" Option "DPMS" "true" EndSection Section "Device" Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0" Driver "fglrx" BusID "PCI:1:0:0" EndSection Section "Device" Identifier "aticonfig-Device[1]-0" Driver "fglrx" BusID "PCI:3:0:0" EndSection Section "Device" Identifier "aticonfig-Device[2]-0" Driver "fglrx" BusID "PCI:4:0:0" EndSection Section "Screen" Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0" Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0" DefaultDepth 24 SubSection "Display" Viewport 0 0 Depth 24 EndSubSection EndSection Section "Screen" Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" Device "aticonfig-Device[1]-0" Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0" DefaultDepth 24 SubSection "Display" Viewport 0 0 Depth 24 EndSubSection EndSection Section "Screen" Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[2]-0" Device "aticonfig-Device[2]-0" Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[2]-0" DefaultDepth 24 SubSection "Display" Viewport 0 0 Depth 24 EndSubSection EndSection

    Read the article

  • My laptop causes the wireless router to stop working

    - by Pier
    hello all, it's happening something strange to my wireless connection. The wireless connection works fine with all the devices at home, except with my laptop (Toshiba satellite, WIN 7 64): as I start it, the wireless network shuts off and the connection disappears also for the other devices. I can use internet only plugging the laptop with an ethernet cable, and I have to shut off the wireless card, to allow the other people in the house to use the wireless connection. I tried to update the firmware (it is a D-Link DIR 615) but it's up to date, and reconfigure the router, but all indicates that the problem is caused by my laptop. I'm currently doing an antivirus scanning, but the computer seems to be clean. Any suggestion?

    Read the article

  • Apple Airport Express, Extreme and Time Capsules, BT Home Hub, Wireless Extenders confusion

    - by Jamie Hartnoll
    I post quite frequently in Stack Overflow, but use Superuser less frequently. Mainly as I don't change hardware often and rarely have software issues! I live in a small stone cottage, and have an office in a separate building across a yard. I have a BT Homehub which is located in the cottage and a series of Ethernet cables running across the yard to the office. This is fine for my wired stuff. My main office computers are PCs running Windows 7 Ultimate, and one on Win7 Home, all working fine. I also have an old laptop on Win XP which works fine wirelessly in the house for those evenings in front of the TV catching up on a bit of work. I also have an iPhone and an iPad. Recently, I have been trying to get WiFi in the office so I can use Adobe Shadow (or whatever it now is!) to improve mobile web development efficiency using my iPhone and iPad, so I bought this: http://www.ebuyer.com/393462-zyxel-wre2205-500mbps-powerline-wireless-n300-range-extender-wre2205-gb0101f Thinking that would be lovely just plugged into the socket by the door in the office, extending the perimeter of the WiFi from my Homehub. I can't get it to work properly! If I plug a laptop into its ethernet port I can get it to connect to the Homehub and give me a kinda of wired, wireless extender. If, however, I plug the ethernet port into my home hub, it then seems to extend the network, but only my iOs devices work, and all my wired stuff stops working, and seems to create an infinite loop where windows connects to my homehob, and then rather to the internet, it then connects back to the extender thing. Anyway... in the meantime, I took a fatal trip to the Apple Store, where I purchased an Airport Express... solely for the purpose of hooking my iOs devices up as wireless music players in the house. I knew it had WiFi, but didn't want to use that part as an extender, I didn't think it would work on a Homehub anyway. It doesn't work on a Homehub! I now have a new wireless network in the house, which, when anything connects to it cannot connect to the Internet, so it works ONLY as a wireless music player. I then borrowed some Powerline Adaptors from someone and realised that this whole thing was getting totally out of control! It seems all the technology is out there but it's so complicated to get the right series of devices. To further add to the confusion, I wouldn't mind a network hard drive. I bought one that broke and lost everything, so now we're on to looking at the Apple Time Capsules. So my question is... IF... I buy an Apple Time Capsule, can I: Hook that up to my Homehub, leaving the homehub connected to the Internet so my Hub phones still work, then disable wireless on the homehub Link up my Airport Express to the Time Capsule PROPERLY so it will connect to the Internet Do the above with an Apple TV box should I buy one in future Use the Time Capsule as a network hard drive to store video and music that can be viewed/listened to via my iOS devices/Apple TV/Aiport Express anywhere even with my main PC off (this currently stores all this data) Hope that the IOS devices like the WiFi from the TimeCapsule better than the Homehub and work without extension, or buy another Airport Express to get WiFI in the office. Or... should I buy an Airport Extreme and use a USB hard drive for the network drive?

    Read the article

  • Linux AMD-FX 8350 temperature monitoring

    - by HyperDevil
    I’m trying to get the CPU temperature for my AMD-FX8350 on Debian Squeeze. I ran sensors-detect and then sensors, but I only get my motherboard sensors (it8720-isa-0228). There are three temperature values there but I assume those are not for the CPU. it8720-isa-0228 Adapter: ISA adapter in0: +1.36 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in1: +1.50 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in2: +3.38 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in3: +2.93 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in4: +3.07 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in5: +4.08 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in6: +4.08 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) in7: +2.93 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) Vbat: +3.01 V fan1: 3375 RPM (min = 10 RPM) fan2: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM) fan3: 1730 RPM (min = 10 RPM) fan5: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM) temp1: +27.0°C (low = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C) sensor = thermistor temp2: +53.0°C (low = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C) sensor = thermal diode temp3: +65.0°C (low = +127.0°C, high = +90.0°C) sensor = thermal diode cpu0_vid: +0.000 V Is there anything I am missing? I also loaded the K8temp and K10temp modules and ran sensor-detect without any results. I do see this message in dmesg: hwmon-vid: Unknown VRM version of your x86 CPU

    Read the article

  • DD-WRT with native IPv6

    - by Matt
    My ISP provides native IPv6 support (ie. I can plug in my computer straight into the WAN and get an IPv6 address). However I can not get this working on DD-WRT. When I enable IPv6 and radvd in DD-WRT, the router gets in IPv6 address, but the devices on my LAN do not. I tried looking at the DD-WRT wiki, but this only displayed instructions for tunneling or other methods where native support isn't available. I found a small amount of sites thorough searching, but none of the methods these sites described gave my computers each a global IPv6 address. In addition, SSHing into the router using ping6 on sites such as ipv6.google.com causes "host unreachable" errors. Has anyone using DD-WRT configured a successful setup with native IPv6? I am using a Netgear WNDR3700 v2, with DD-WRT build 17201

    Read the article

  • How to change radius of rounded rectangle in Photoshop

    - by MattDiPasquale
    At this point, I'm thinking of just using CSS 3, esp. since I'm a programmer, but I'd like to do this with Photoshop because I think it's nicer since I'm working with images anyway, among other reasons... Before I move on, my first question is: Is there a place like SuperUser for designers (or for Photoshop-like or questions)? What I Want: I want the icons on http://www.mattdipasquale.com/ to look like those on http://about.me/mattdipasquale. About.me has an outdated Twitter icon and does not have icons for GitHub, StackOverflow, etc. So, although I like the look of their icons, I want to be able to create these icons myself instead of using their versions. What I Have: I have different iphone icons, like the Facebook iPhone icon, Twitter iPhone icon, etc., that I got from iTunes, using Firebug to find the URL of the background image. I opened them up in Photoshop and pressed option + command + i to reduce the image size to 32px x 32px with Bicubic Sharper (best for reduction). I now have a square icon layer. Closing the Gap: In addition to the icon layer, I want to have a clipping-mask layer that will apply the 5px rounded-corners, 1px stroke, and 1px bevel. (Note: I just want to apply effects to the edges of the icon because the gloss and other effects are already encoded in the iTunes image. Also, I'm just guessing about the pixel values, but I want it to look good, like the icons on about.me.) What settings should I use for the blend options to make the icons look good, like iphone icons or those used by about.me? Why a Clipping Mask? The reason I want to use a clipping mask is that I want ease of reproducibility. I want to be able to apply the same styling to other square icon layers by simply replacing the square icon layer and then saving for web. If there is a better way to achieve such ease of reproducibility, please suggest it. I've seen Photoshop iPhone icon templates, but I couldn't figure out how to use them with my own images. Thanks! Matt

    Read the article

  • Where can I find linux-kernel-headers-x.x.x.x for SUSE?

    - by Landy
    I'm installing VMware Workstation on a SLED 11 SP1, and the installation is blocked by an error message "Kernel headers for version 2.6.32.27-0.2-default were not found". If you installed them in a non-default path you can specify the path below. Otherwise refer to your distribution's documentation for installation instructions and click Refresh to search again in default locations. The output of rpm -qa | grep kernel is kernel-default-2.6.32.27-0.2.2 kernel-default-base-2.6.32.27-0.2.2 linux-kernel-headers-2.6.32-1.4.13 kernel-default-extra-2.6.32.27-0.2.2 nfs-kernel-server-1.2.1-2.10.1 I had met this issue in Ubuntu and I installed the required linux header via apt-get then the issue disappeared. But in SLED, I didn't find the rpm package in SUSE's software repository, and I also google "linux-kernel-headers-2.6.32.27" but did not match any documents. Any suggestion will be highly appreciated. Thanks. The output result of zypper se kernel | grep kernel is i | linux-kernel-headers | Linux Kernel Headers | package | linux-kernel-headers | Linux Kernel Headers | srcpackage

    Read the article

  • Problems with wireless file copy - hangs during copy

    - by Eran Kampf
    I have this problem on my home network where when I try to copy files via wireless connection, at some point the copy fails and the machine doing the copy loses connection to the network. I'm pretty much lost as to figuring out the source for the problem... Some more details that might help: It's not OS related. I have Windows 7 machines and Leopard machines and this occurs on both I'm using a 3com OfficeConnect router Wired transfer works fine Other programs that require heavy wireless traffic work just fine:streaming large HD movies, Xbox Live! ... I'm lost as to how to even begin trying to diagnose the problem so any tips are welcome...

    Read the article

  • Google shows subdomain of main site instead of add on domain URL [closed]

    - by Welsher
    I have my host (lunarpages) set up with a few add on domains to my main account. These show up as sub-domains of my main account, but they can be reached by using the new domain I've created. So: subdomain1.domain.com -- www.mynewsite.com subdomain2.domain.com -- www.myothersite.com etc. The problem is, mynewsite.com shows up in google with that domain, but myothersite.com shows up with subdomain2.domain.com. I don't have a clue what might be causing this to happen. If anyone has an advice or can point me in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks.

    Read the article

  • UNR Installation: Partitioning Error

    - by Wesley
    Hi all, I have a Samsung N120 netbook (with upgraded 2GB RAM). I'm trying to install Ubuntu Netbook Remix, but when I set my partitions, I get an error. The setup I want right now is: Recovery Partition - 6 GB Windows XP Home Partition - 40 GB General Partition - remaining space UNR Partition - 40 GB I am told that I need to resize a partition and it will take a while. However, when it nearly starts, I get an ERROR!!! dialog that says, "Error informing the kernel about modifications to partition /dev/sda5 - Device or resource busy. This means Linux won't know about any changes you made to /dev/sda5 so you shouldn't mount it or use it in any way before rebooting." I'm not too sure what I should do right now... any ideas? Thanks in advance.

    Read the article

  • Robocopy unilog output is gibberish

    - by miro
    I tried to get robocopy in Windows 7 to generate a Unicode log, since I have files with Unicode characters. The command I used: robocopy C:\mysource D:\mydest /mir /unilog:backup.log /tee File the copy works and the onscreen output is correct, the log file itself just contains gibberish. This is regardless of whether I use the Command Prompt or the Powershell. What gives? Am I doing something wrong?

    Read the article

  • Add custom command line to extended context menu in Windows 7

    - by 280Z28
    I have an application pinned to the task bar. 90% of the time, I run it with no additional command line options, so I can either click it (if not already open), or right click the icon and click the application name to open a new instance. I want to make it where when I right click it, there are 2 options listed: the first is the program with no command line options and the second is the one with a custom command line (that I hard code). If this is impossible, it would be tolerable to add it to the extended context menu (shift + right click the icon), but I prefer the former.

    Read the article

  • 6-core Sandy Bridge-E vs. 4-core Ivy Bridge

    - by Alexander Ilyin
    I am currently choosing between Intel Core i7-3770 (quad, Ivy) and Intel Core i7-3930K (6 cores, Sandy Bridge-E). This machine will be used for both work (Adobe, Autodesk software, graphic and coding-related) and gaming. Even if some applications I will use are capable to utilize all 6 cores at once, is it worth preferring Sandy Bridge-E to newer Ivy Bridge? Games aren't and probably will perform better on Ivy, won't they? 6-core is also twice as expensive as a quad Ivy.

    Read the article

  • Howto unzip ".xz" file with 7z and lzma

    - by neversaint
    I tried to uncompressed a "*.xz" file with both 7z and lzma. But they gave me such message: $ 7z x myfile.fq.xz 7-Zip 4.57 Copyright (c) 1999-2007 Igor Pavlov 2007-12-06 p7zip Version 4.57 (locale=C,Utf16=off,HugeFiles=on,4 CPUs) Processing archive: myfile.fq.xz Error: Can not open file as archive $ 7z x myfile.fq.xz 7-Zip 4.57 Copyright (c) 1999-2007 Igor Pavlov 2007-12-06 p7zip Version 4.57 (locale=C,Utf16=off,HugeFiles=on,4 CPUs) Processing archive: myfile.fq.xz Error: Can not open file as archive and with lzma $ lzma -d myfile.fq.xz J_12.fq.xz: unknown suffix -- unchanged with other option: $ lzma -S .xz -d myfile.fq.xz lzma: SetDecoderProperties() error

    Read the article

  • Powermac G4 Booting Up to White Screen?

    - by David
    I have a Powermac G4 that I use as a server. Since yesterday, for any reason, it chimes, and just goes to a white screen. The only way to make it work again is to reset the PMU by holding the button inside for 10 seconds. It is running 10.4.11.

    Read the article

  • gvim on Lubuntu

    - by icedTea
    I can't seem to use gvim on lubuntu. After installing vim with sudo apt-get install vim I cannot seem to start it: $ gvim The program 'gvim' can be found in the following packages: * vim * vim-gnome * vim-tiny * vim-athena * vim-gtk * vim-nox Try: sudo apt-get install <selected package> $ Is this an issue with lubuntu? Is there a workaround? Vim does start in terminal mode, I would prefer gvim though.

    Read the article

  • Duplicate ping packages in Linux VirtualBox machine

    - by Darkmage
    i cant seem t figure out what is going on here. The Linux machine I am using is running as a VM on a Win7 machine using Virtual Box running as a service. If i ping the win7 Host i get ok result. root@Virtual-Box:/home/glennwiz# ping -c 100000 -s 10 -i 0.02 192.168.1.100 PING 192.168.1.100 (192.168.1.100) 10(38) bytes of data. 18 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=1.78 ms 18 bytes from 192.168.1.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=1.68 ms if i ping localhost im ok root@Virtual-Box:/home/glennwiz# ping -c 100000 -s 10 -i 0.02 localhost PING localhost (127.0.0.1) 10(38) bytes of data. 18 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.255 ms 18 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.221 ms but if i ping gateway i get DUP packets root@Virtual-Box:/home/glennwiz# ping -c 100000 -s 10 -i 0.02 192.168.1.1 PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 10(38) bytes of data. 18 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.27 ms 18 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.46 ms (DUP!) 18 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=22.1 ms 18 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=22.4 ms (DUP!) if i ping other machine on same LAN i stil get dups. pinging remote hosts also gives (DUP!) result root@Virtual-Box:/home/glennwiz# ping -c 100000 -s 10 -i 0.02 www.vg.no PING www.vg.no (195.88.55.16) 10(38) bytes of data. 18 bytes from www.vg.no (195.88.55.16): icmp_seq=1 ttl=245 time=10.0 ms 18 bytes from www.vg.no (195.88.55.16): icmp_seq=1 ttl=245 time=10.3 ms (DUP!) 18 bytes from www.vg.no (195.88.55.16): icmp_seq=2 ttl=245 time=10.3 ms 18 bytes from www.vg.no (195.88.55.16): icmp_seq=2 ttl=245 time=10.6 ms (DUP!)

    Read the article

  • How to make 7zip faster

    - by user34463
    I normally use winRAR over 7Zip simply because its faster and only a little less efficient with compression. I did a few tests on different filetypes and sizes comparing the 7zip and winRAR default settings on their normal compression and their best compression, and in a lot of cases winRAR was 50% faster and in some it was actually 100% faster. But, I do like FOSS more. So here are my questions: Is there a way to make 7zip speed up? I'd like it to at least be on par with rar's speed Is there a way to make recovery segments in 7zip like you can in rar? I didn't see any, but I guess it could be a command line thing. I tested winrar and 7zip using the latest stable version of each (4.something with 7zip). Is the 9.x beta release noticeably faster at compression? I'm talking about faster at a comparable setting in WinRAR, not just lowering to bare minimum compression. If it matters, I use a quad core intel i7 720 (1.6ghz)/(2.8ghz) with 4gb DDR3 ram, and the 64-bit version of 7zip.

    Read the article

  • Setting the viminfo path in gVim for portability (Windows)

    - by Will Vousden
    I'm trying to make my gVim installation as portable as possible, and in doing so I want to put the _viminfo file in the $VIM directory rather than $HOME. I'm pretty new to hacking vimrc configurations, but here's what I've been trying: let viminfopath=$VIM."\\_viminfo" execute "set viminfo='1000,n".escape(viminfopath, ' ') " Some other portability stuff. set nobackup set nowritebackup if has("win32") || has("win64") set directory=$TMP else set directory=~/tmp end This doesn't seem to be working, though; does anyone have any tips? Thanks!

    Read the article

< Previous Page | 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549  | Next Page >